After reading this article about some of the 'unwritten rules' all Chicagoans know, it made me think about some of the unwritten rules followed by responsible dog owners in the city. Looking back, it may have taken me a bit to catch on, but here are some things we've learned after owning our pups for a few years:
The Sidewalk Dance:
We've learned about this unwritten code among fellow dog owners. If someone is already on the sidewalk it's "their" sidewalk and you should cross to the other side. If you have a sidewalk but someone is approaching who is walking more dogs than you, having a harder time walking their dog (yes, even big men with small dogs), or has a dog and a child it's polite to give up your sidewalk to them and cross over. Don't allow your pup to turn a corner ahead of you without looking in case there is another dog approaching. Don't allow your dog to stop in the middle of the sidewalk and stare down other dogs. If someone is cleaning up dog poo, you will never approach them with your dog.Walk in the Strip:
We always walk our dogs on our left side, so we choose the sidewalks where the dogs can use the grass strip between the road and the sidewalk. We are always aware to avoid the strips where they are trying to grow flowers. We also make sure to bring bags with us at all times to pick up the dog poo.
Clear the Sidewalk:
We are always aware that even though we love our pups, we also know not everyone wants to meet our dogs. We always make sure to keep our pooches at our side on crowded sidewalks and during busy festivals. E and I walk single file on city sidewalks so people can get around us.
What are some other 'unspoken rules' you've learned as dog owners?
Also:



